Mon. Jun 27th, 2022

FIFA have released the finalists for The Best FIFA Player Awards in both male and female categories, with the award ceremony scheduled for January 17.

The award was launched by FIFA to reduce the popularity of Ballon d’Or awarded by France Football magazine, which has been running since 2016. 

The three finalists for The Best FIFA Men’s Player are as follows:

  1. Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich)
  2. Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona & Paris Saint-Germain)
  3. Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)

The Argentine and the Pole were first and second in the 2021 Ballon d’Or, with Salah finishing in seventh.

Captains and coaches of every national  that are members of FIFA will vote for the winners of The Best, with each getting to choose three players and points are awards depending on their classification in the votes.

In the female category, the three finalists for The Best FIFA Women’s Player have been named as follows:

  1. Jennifer Hermoso (Spain/Barcelona)
  2. Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)
  3. Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)

By Nwosu Chizoba David

Nwosu Chizoba David is an entertainment and football lover, promoter, analyst and writer. He aspires to make a name in the media company. He is the CEO of Soccercruz (News site, Podcast, Radio and Television). email:, phone number: +2348063046744.

Leave a Reply