Mon. May 16th, 2022
This daylive

Super Eagle of Nigeria experienced a setback to their AFCON preparation after four players pull out from the squad.
Watford attacker Emmanuel Dennis and Napoli Striker Victor Osimhen will miss out of the event at Cameroon, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) announced.
Leon Balogun and Abdullahi Shehu have also pull out from the squad as both players are still on the injury sidelines.

In the statements released on Friday by NFF, they detailed the reasons for their absence.
Osimhen was dropped after testing positive for coronavirus adding to the facial injury he suffered in November.That of Dennis was not revealed, but maybe as a result of Watford’s refusal to release the player.

Leon Balogun and Abdullahi Shehu have been sidelined with injuries they sustained in their respective clubs and will not recover in time to feature in the tournament.
The absence of both Osimhen and Dennis is a huge blow to the Super Eagles hopes of wining the tournament.

To make out for the lack, Henry Onyekuru, Peter Olayinka, Tyronne Ebuehi and Seyi Ajayi have been called up as replacements.
The four players are expected to unite with the rest of the player’s at Abuja camp latest January 3.

The players that will represent Nigeria at Cameroon for AFCON 2021 are;

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic.

By Nwosu Chizoba David

Nwosu Chizoba David is a soccer lover and writer. He is a graduate of Biological Sciences, presently teaching in a secondary in Lagos.

Leave a Reply